About: 図書館戦争 (Library Wars)

All is Fair in Love and War…Literaturely

looking upHolaaa~mi amigos! Whoa, it’s been quite some time since my last post, eh? Well, as much as I feel too fricking lazy to do anything, I actually feels not in the mood to watch anything either. And this laziness had reached a new level of self contemplation and realization about this blog. Actually, since the very first day of creating this minipipami.wordpress, there had been tonz of times where I come to write some post because I feel that I have to write some post, for, y’know, the sake of updating and stuff. But these days I’ve realized that it was so stupid of me; I mean, why do I have to watch something just because I want to write some damn review about it, which in the end makes me feel annoyingly obliged? Wouldn’t it be nicer if I write something because I want to do so or watching something that was so effing good, it encourages me to post something about it here? So yeah that’s my method from now on. No more obligated post! Oshhhh!!! Heheh… But then this kind of posting mood comes out as a random thing as well. Truth be told, I’ve watched quite a lot dramas and movies these past couple of months; some good, some basically crappy. But not all good dramas and movies that I’d watched are giving me something to well…write home about (ex. Dear Sister), and not all crappy dramas that I’d watched are not worth to talk about, cos sometimes hate watching is enjoyable as well, lulz…(ex. Second Love). Buuuuut then, there are also good dramas and movies that are worth to be talked and posted like this one for example. And despite my laziness that I said priorly and after busting my ass gathering my micro pieces of mood that scattered all over the effing place, I finally…FINALLY! able to push myself to watch Library Wars, which by the way, was affected by many external factors like; some says that it was good, and the other say that the romance part was cute, and so on. Well, as for me, this is Okada’s another action movies; and since I just finished watching SP and all its cronies franchises, in which I watched him being awesome with all the action scenes (will talk about SP shits on my later review, if… I’m not lazy enuff to write, lulz…), it kinda brings me a “woohoo! its gonna be good” kinda of excitement a bit. And so I watched it, and now Imma talk about it…yeah. *insert cool emoji*aim high(Spoilert: Not much, just as heavy as a 100-pages book. Lol…)

In a nutshell Library Wars tells a story about an era where books are highly restricted and banned everywhere by (as far as I have remembered) the Media Betterment Committee (MBC) for bringing bad influences to society’s morality, and this censorship movement have led to millions of books being burned with lots of people and civilians die in the process. So, in order to fight the literate injustice, the Library Defense Force (LDF) was formed and they preserving and protecting books in a one humongous elite looking library, armed with troops who carry a value of defensive act that only meant to protect but never harm or kill.kasaharaMove to year 2019, where a spunky early 20s girl named Kasahara Iku (Eikura Nana) was being accepted to the LDF. At first, she joins the force just to search for someone, one of the LDF members, that had helped her 5 years ago, back when she’s still a highschooler. She never knows who he was, but she keeps that anonymous guy as her precious memories that she called him as her “Prince”. But instead of meeting the said Prince, the guy that she meets and has to deal with  is the chibi stern squad leader that become her superior, named Dojo Atsushi (Okada), who basically is a pain in the ass (not to mention with a tight shirt indeed as well, lol…)stern chibiBut oh well, surprise surprise, behind the exterior of icy cold stares and assertive attitude, who would’ve guest or even THOUGHT that the hard nut Dojo-kyokan is actually the said kind-hearted prince that give her the warm fuzzy feeling of having a first crush 5 years ago? Rrrrrright?! *cue cheesy 90s love song*
drivingI won’t beat around the fricking bushes by straightforwardly tell you that Library Wars is a very good and enjoyable movie. But despite all of the promising excitements that it had brought in its premise; truth be told at the beginning, I wasn’t willing to fully grasp the whole concept of the movie. I mean like, seriously, books are media of crime and humanity deterioration blahblahblah, so it has to burned down and people have to basically die bcos of it? It’s sorta… stupid, imo. If that MBC guys wanna talk about some sort of evil influence towards humankind, why don’t they banned the internet instead? Since it’s more widespread, filter-less, and also there’s cyberbullying and brainwashing websites, etc. Heck, and those LDF guys are also on the same boat of WTF; I mean, if MBC banned all books as in physical forms, why don’t they make e-books instead, since the internet weren’t banned at all? Simple solution, eh? But oh well, basically these critical thoughts of mine may just be a bunch of rhetorical questions anyway, lol… Beside, if we can put aside all of that questioning matters, and just aiming to enjoy the ride that has been provided, this movie comes as a top notch in terms of entertaining, cos basically, it has everything that viewers need, as the viewers are me, myself, and I. Hahaha… *crazy laugh*war timeAs a dystopian-ish movie, Library Wars has enough dose of bringing some action excitements to the viewers. The war scene in the climax is executed nicely and seriously with all the chaos, the “ratatatata” sound of the gunshots, the panic screaming, and so on, it makes me forget for quite a while that they’re fighting and gunning each other over a bunch of books! Gasp! And aside the multiple war scenes, this movie didn’t forget to effectively utilize Okada’s ability by giving him the one on one battle scenes. Wooohoohoooo… those duel scenes are something that was tooo fricken goooood to be missed out, or not pay fully attention to. Well, I gotta say that it’s all because of Okada and his Jeet Kune Do, Kali or yadayadayada kinds of martial arts skills. Dude, forget about the fact that his face sometimes look like Sanrio’s Monkichi; I mean, this guy is an expert yo! And we all can agree on one thing; that when an expertise does scenes of thing that he, well, expert at, it will basically come out as something effortlessly awesome; even though that scene is only as small scale as catching an ero magazine pervert in the men’s bathroom. But hell of course this movie won’t make Dojo kyokan doing only one crappy lil cop scene, for near the end there’s a real kind of one on one fight between him and the bad guy with a knife and that scene really, reallllly hooked me 110% in. Those scenes were so engaging and suspenseful, your eyes just glued to the screen, moving to the left and to the right like some kind of psychiatric hypnotize session with that giant pendant. Lol… But seriously that scene could be the only reason why you have to watch this movie… Or enrolling yourself to a Jeet Kune Do class.  Wotaaaah!!! *Bruce Lee posing* lulz…driving2But bless this movie for being such a nice lil cutie mushy by not ignoring the love department. Yep, that’s right, despite an awesome war and fighting scenes, and a quite macho non-girly title, Library Wars didn’t forget to nurture the love side of the whole story, and it’s not just on the backseat, as this part is on par with the whole action things on the front seat level; complete with the debacle of love triangle between Kasahara, Dojo, and the other trainee guy from an elite family, Tezuka Hikaru (Fukushi Sota), but since Tezuka’s character was as flat as his skinny bony chest, we can kick him to the pavement of I don’t give a damn corner, and fully concentrate ourselves to the main lovebirds.

Toodles, hammy Tezuka...lol...
Toodles, hammy Tezuka…lol…

Well, everybody knows that my fave kind of love story clicheness is the tsundere slash Mr.Darcy type. Y’know, the one where the guy is acting tough, cold, and mean to the girl, but deep down in his kokoro, he actually caresssss a lotssss about her. Library Wars used this conventional formula, and creating a shojo manga-ish chick flick that was oh-so-cute and pleasant to watch; despite the physical premise that hey hoooo! Dojo the dude is a midget and wayyy shorter than Kasahara. And this lopsided factor becomes a quite important point that kept being stressed and treated as some kind of comedic side.

the most kind of embarrassing... lulz...
the most kind of embarrassing… lulz…

Honest to the maxes if I could, uhmmmm, have another option, I would prefer a pair where the guy is taller than the girl, since it represents protective value. But yet at the same time, oddly, I actually find myself don’t mind about Dojo-Kasahara super visible height difference, since gradually it has become a plus point for their cuteness moments. Beside, that chibi Dojo has more than adequate level of buff and bulkiness to protect the 5 ft. 10 inch. Kasahara. Heheh…

Geez, tough love is in the air...
tough love is in the air…

The thing that I love the most from the romance part, is how Dojo always giving Kasahara hard times and nag nag nag at her all the time, but yet, he can’t help himself to help and take care of her. And also, Kasahara is the only girl that can make him let his guard down a bit to become an ordinary man instead of a serious mentor for 24/7. There are a lot of scenes that was made to show the relationship’s dynamic between Dojo and Kasahara, but for me there is one particular scene that stood out the most and become sorta my fave.

gosh, this scene is hilarious... lololol...
gosh, this scene is hilarious… lololol…

That scene happened on the stormy night, where Dojo helps Kasahara with her storm-wrecked tent. Though this scene is hilarious at the beginning by giving us the granny moment of Kasahara who cannot hear what Dojo nag about at the moment (“What? I can’t hear you!” Lol…)campingBut later, the whole thing develop into a combination of something sweet as it becomes the first time for both Dojo and Kasahara to have a real personal conversation and a slightly awkward indirect physical contact; read: towel (Damn! Awkward Dojo is practically the best okay?! *fangirl squeal*)teeheeThen Dojo tries to break the ice by awkwardly try to act cool in asking Kasahara about the story of the book that she got from her “prince”, in which he clearly knows that it was him. And Kasahara happily explain the story, and her words makes him smile for the first time, which brings Kasahara an excitement for finally seeing Dojo-kyokan’s human side–and somehow I found her lil laughing sound was very cute–heheh…confiding momentAlthough the lovey tsundere storyline has been giving us nothing but cute and adorbs moments, there is one particular scene where I thought that the whole thing went borderline sappy, which is Dojo’s confiding scene with Komaki (Tanaka Kei) when they’re on their way to save Kasahara and the Director who were kidnapped at that time. Don’t get me wrong, I think the scene is very nice, since it was like telling us (a bit of) real feeling that Dojo has for Kasahara. But for me, the timing was kinda off, especially when we as viewers (or me, at the very least) are in a damn high anticipation level of waiting when the heck they’re gonna make it to the destined place and save Kasahara and the Director. But helllllll, this Dojo dude just keep talking… and talking, and being melancholy over his guilt for making Kasahara entering the LDF and blahblahblah, and I was like “Omaigawttt!!! Save yer yaps for Oprah dammittt!!!” Uarghhh… that was frustrating… sorta.heroic dojoBut then as a good movies should do, Library Wars redeemed itself with an awesome fighting scene like I had said above, and not only that, it also gives me a sorta swoony heroic scene, cos HEY! Sometimes it doesn’t always have to be about the major acts, but the small gesture that really counts *insert smiley emoji* Oh my, you don’t know jack, you just don’t know how much I love that little scene where injured Dojo still pushing himself to pull Kasahara and protect her behind his back, though we all know that he had reached his physical limit at the moment. It was like “Do or die! but I won’t let you lay your filthy hands on my woman!” Lol… Oh dear dear dear, I got fricking doki doki when I watched that scene. So bonkers of me. Hahaha… *shrug* While the final hugging scene, despite being something LOL worthy due to the extreme height difference, was becoming the ultimate d’aww scene for Dojo’s awkwardness in conveying his feeling to Kasahara afterwards. Awww… Dojo you lil softie at heart… *nudge, nudge* lulz…

so awkwardly cute, and cutely awkward...
so awkwardly cute, and cutely awkward…

And by the end of the movie, everything was back to normal, with a lil difference of Dojo’s and Kasahara’s relationship’s dynamic that has gotten better. And then a lil pat on the head by Dojo raise a nostalgia feeling for the unbeknown Kasahara, who starts to questioning herself: Is Dojo her long lost “Prince” that she’s been waiting and looking for all this time? Anyhoo, we all have known the right answer, but does Kasahara really comes to a realization of that not so secret truth? The answer is (probably) gonna revealed on the second movie Library Wars: The Last Mission that will release later on October 10th this year…IN JAPAN. That means, it’ll take monthzzzz for me to be able to watch that final sequel in subbed and DVD quality. Dammit!!! *clenching fist*D and KAll in all, Library Wars is a complete pack of a movie with a balance portion of action and romance. If you’re in the mood to watch a chick flick with some guns or a soldier with a melancholy romantic side then this is the movie for you. Ugh, wutdahell that I’m talking about, just watch this movie okay?! It’s effing good! Hahaha… *thumbs up*

Final Score: 85/100

Damn, I wish I could watch this shit rightaway...
Damn, wish I could watch the sequel right now…
Leave a Reply

