Pony Up Your Moolah for the Twenty Years Old Mixtape! Woohoo!

omjayjayHey hommies! I’m back for doing my monthly check at this blog while making a lil confirmation to you all my fellow–I assume–avid blog readers that I’m still alive and kicking. Haiyaaaah!!! Lulz… Anyhoo, the reason I wrote this is not to give you a crap talking session about maself, cos as the matter of fact I wanna share to ya some news as a FYI and TMI thingy about V6 newest release. Why? Cos, hey ho!!! I’m a newly established V6 fan (sorta) remember? Well, as I read in Arama Japan and many other fandom blogs that V6 geezers (cos calling them “boys sounds a lil bit…off; y’know what I mean? Heheh…) will release their greatest hits album to mark the two decades of their career as Johnny’s gheyboybander. But it’s certainly not their first greatest hits album to date, since they had already released two albums beforehand on 2001 and 2006, Very Best and Very Best II. And also, this one is certainly not your ordinary best of album either since this is the mutant, upgraded, 2.0 version; that they confidently dubbed as The Super Very Best which is so wow and whoa, cos well…it’s super. Guess they ran out of words to put up as the title, eh?! Lol…

SuperV6This album is said to come out in two different editions; Limited Edition A and B; which consist of their 20 years period of 45 singles tunes plus two new songs, Koko Kara, which was written by Inocchi (lyric-wise), and Wait for You; plussss, there will also be a bonus DVD of footage of each member’s interview, throwbacking at their good ol’ days, while visioning themselves for hereafter. Well I really look forward to where they will talk about something like *dramatization mode* “Hey guys do you remember at the early 2000 where Morita sported that disastrous peroxide hair? Or year 2007 where Okada is so effing cool by acting as an action-packed hunk policeman in SP, but also become a Big Bird-ish giant yellow ruffle shirt-wearer while dancing latino to a song about pasta, Itoshii no Napolitan? Do you remember where we have to promote our single by thrusting our crotch and flapping our biceps while singing about hot bunny with 1000 degrees heat but came out as something embarrassingly repulsive? Do ya remember? Do ya?” Lol…

Bless their souls for being so frickin confident. lulz...
Bless their souls for being so frickin confident. lulz…

But hey mama, won’t I call them embarrassing nor repulsive nor boyband with cheesy songs, (except their Made in Japan single, cos well, it’s MADE IN JAPAN! Lol…) since what’s lacking in any part that’s lacking, they cover it up straightaway with great vocals (Johnny’s standard-wise) specially by the duo tonisen Leader and Inocchi plus one kamisen, Okada, sprinkle by a bit of Morita; but let’s not forget the softie old version of Furukawa Yuki, Nagano, and the ever so youthful Miyake with his helium voice that is so hard to be missed and unrecognized. (*Listening to radio* “Whose song is this? *Miyake singing* “oh it’s V6 alright!”) Lol…
VVV6Talk about good vocals, the first songs of V6 that got me hook with their entire discography weren’t the one that shows their smooth singing skills, as those songs were Mission of Love and Bari Bari Buddy. And dear, BBB is so darn catchy, upbeaty and aerobicy, along with their cheerful choreography and bubbly aura that makes you wanna jump into their wagon straightaway into the summery fun of happy go lucky land. And I’ve grown bonkers by watching every single bit of their BBB performance in every fricken music show and downloading the PV in HD qualities, cos me simply just can’t get enuff with the “Gatsu!” yell that these bunch of ahjussis loudly shouted in the song.

One word: Fun! *insert smile emoji*
One word: Fun! *insert smile emoji*

And of course to complete the BBB trifecta, you need to watch it’s being performed in none other than the concert. So here they go, spreading like a virus into my computer, for now I had downloaded the whole tang of their 2013 Live Tour Oh My Goodness into my Winniefred. (Peanote: name of my poor laptop cos it works for like 24/7. Lol…) But damn that was worth it, cos BBB was sung as fun as always. But yet, this concert also raised another questionable question for my cynical thought: Why in the fricking world they have to appear so damn ill-fitted and low budget? cos my my my…they ain’t look like a Chippendale in here alright, for they are Cheap-andale. Lulz…
OMG stageMy first concern is the stage setting that was too damn simple. Comparing this to it’s fellow Johnny’s concert of the same year, the 2013 Countdown Live Tour of KAT-TUN in Kyocera Dome…wow, just… wow. It’s like space high and mother earth of difference gap. There is even one moment when they sang in the moving stairs and the machine appeared kinda stuck and the stage become a bit wobbly. Argh…!!! The Horror!!! Heheh…pinker than your barbie dollsBut B-grade stage setting is nothing, compare to the ill-fitted wardrobes that these guys have to wear. I mean like, seriously dude, they should banished the costume designer and burn those pinky leathery clothes rightaway, since it makes them looking like a bunch of dancing Hickory honey hams, along with the crazy spaghetti-like shoe lace all over it. Especially Bussan, erp, I mean Okada. Damn Okada is so bulky, it makes his jacket seems so tight and he looked sooooo awkward…as awkward as his nekkid An-an photoshoots. Lulz…
pinkadaTurns out their disastrous el-cheaponess is not only happening in wardrobes nor concert stages, cos their PVs reeked the same stink and it’s not a recent thingy either, for it already existed since God only knows when ever since they debuted. And since I’m a new watcher, I can only pinpoint some some of it, like Chou and Light in Your Heart PVs that looked like live streaming videos in a small studio and rented lighting. While performance wise, Good Day looked like they sing after a quick visit to a thrift shop, cos everyone looks so secondhandly casual, which is a shame shame shame, since the song and the dance are so effing catchy. *Sigh* While Light in Your Heart performance… Hahaha!!! Don’t even ask me about what do I think about their crazy fringy black and white pants cos dammit, they looked like Chinese new year lion dancers who forget to bring the lion. Hehhh…
lion dancers in your heart lulzBut despite the catastrophic wardrobes and PVs that these guys have to wear and endure, all I gotta say is; even though skills can’t buy them money to fund their concerts nor PVs, money can’t either buy skills that they already have which (some of) the other Johnny’s don’t. Despite the lame stage setting and clothing, Oh My Goodness is a one helluva concert with many awesome highlights, such as their chair dance in Bingo, their cool Supernova choreography (along with that Inocchi school kid fan, lol…) Their almost flawless performance of Shin’ai naru Kimi he–as the only flaw is that damn hammy pink clothes. Ugh…–and nobody, I said nobody can pull mega embarrassing hip thrusting moves along with cheesy line of Sexy.Honey.Bunny and turning it into some manly cool performance like our homeboys here (somehow I really love the bridge part when they do that Sorry Sorry hand-rubbing moves. *finger on the hips* Pssst…hawt yo! Lulz…)
Awesome honey bunniesAfter long talk about the crap, now it’s time for the un-crap side, since not all arrows are missed from their single releases. There are some some that hitting the bulls-eye, of course; like Sky’s the Limit single which were combinations of catchy song, colorful PV, and full-packed-choreography-performance. Forget about the fact that Okada wore a wig at those promotional times; all I know is that the Morita+Miyake rap and dance parts were awesome!
SKYMeanwhile, their 2004 single, Arigatou no Uta, is one of the sweetest and peaceful JBallady songs that I ever listened, kinda like the one that tugged you on your kokoro, heheh… The B-side, Junk Trap, is also a catchy tune with a strong early 90s vibe, which is defo my taste-o. My fave part of Arigato song is definitely Inocchi’s part, since his voice is so fit into this kind of song and it’s soooo damn damn good. There is one particular performance where they sing this in string version, and I just so…ugh…I love it to pieces!!! Gyaboooo!!!
sweet perfBut what I think is the best combo ever from their PV and single promotion is their 2009 single Guilty. Holy macaroni! Never underestimate the power of black suits, cos they looked awesomely dapper, especially after that gloomy low budget promotional year before of Light in Your Heart and Chou in 2008. Seems like the simpler they get, the more awesome they became. Lulz… Everything in Guilty screams manly! from the simple Black & White concept, the dance, the Okada solo part. Ugh… it’s true when they say that less is more, huh? *squeal*
guiltily gooodWhoa man, I’ve been wayyyy out of the main topic. Hah! Anywayyy, back to the Super Very Best, aside the LE A n B, turns out this album also comes in Shop Edition with the bonus DVD of their lifetime’s PV from their mid 90s debut to the twenty fifteen; in other words, the memorabilia DVD of their dark past of dumpster clothing wearing. lulz… And talk about PV DVD as bonus; if a Johnny’s album with one PV as a bonus already cost you half of your monthly wage, can you imagine how much will it cost for a 53 PVs-DVD of a Johnny’s boyband that nearly as old as the Backstreet Boys? As I quoted from one of Arama Japan‘s commentators, “shit must cost like a billion yen!” Well V6 fans, I guess it’s time for you to sell your kidneys! *slashing scalpels* Lulz… ‘Till next time my lurvies! *blowing smooches*

PS: if ye got spare times to share, go check the V6 20th ANNIVERSARY Special Official Website; it’s so effing cute! I play along with each and every member yo… Okay, I admit, I only pick Okada’s and Inocchi’s avatar. Yeah I know I know, you can call me Shelly the Shallow whatever, I don’t care. Lulz…

I leave you all with B6... heheh...
I leave you all with B6… heheh…

Sources and Credits: aramajapan, Picture #01, #03, and the last unedited ©v6-unlimited@livejournal

Leave a Reply

